Tags

, , , ,

Before I begin bantering about my maladies, I must make it clear that I.LOVE.CHRISTMAS. I shamelessly put in %110 when it comes to Christmas preparations. Does this %110 percent include handmade Christmas countdowns, overdosing on candy canes, making my own version of the Nutcracker, knitting 10 more rows of the scarf i started 3 Christmas seasons ago, and spending a lot more money at Starbucks than usual? Maybe, probably, and most definitely. But ‘pardon moi’, my Christmas spirit flame refuses to be ignited by the pushing and nudging of the commercial world.

Reasons why I am not quite ready to adopt the Christmas spirit:

  1. Hobby Lobby was stocked with Christmas merchandise way before Halloween. A desperate cry for sales. This event associates economic suffering with Christmas decorations.
  2. When the Starbucks Christmas cups came out, I was just getting into the swing of Fall. I’d like to give my taste buds control of the reigns when it comes to switching from a Pumpkin Spice Latte to a Chai Eggnog Latte or a Peppermint Mocha. Geez, I’m not 5, I know what I like when I like it.
  3. By the time commercials started airing about holiday sales, I felt I was so behind on getting into the Christmas spirit that I just became more bitter about it.
  4. My apartment is lovely, but lately it has been smelling like onions and trash. It makes me mad that it doesn’t smell like Christmas. I mean, isn’t that shift in scent just a natural thing?
  5. If you are a Torontonian, you will know about The Santa Claus Parade. Every year, I go with high hopes of a lovely afternoon, and every year, I stand on a crowded curb in the freezing cold with 1-2 friends watching a marching band go by and grabbing for candy give-aways that are rarely fruitful. It’s always so drab that it’s quite hilarious. It’s tomorrow. Will I have faith in it for one more year? Only time will tell.
  6. American Thanksgiving isn’t given any acknowledgement here, and I usually try to wait until it passes.
  7. In Canada, it gets pitch black at like 4 pm in the winter. OH WOW. If you think, ‘Oh my gosh, is it midnight?’ and it turns out to be 5 pm, you know where you are. That’s not exactly Christmas related, but I had to vent about it.

Looking back, this post is very pessimistic, which is out of character for me. I can’t revoke my feelings about the Christmas season being forced on me, but I can promise you a spirited post in the future when I am wayyy over excited for Christmas. It may involve a list 10938 times longer than the one in this post. So be excited.

